I have lots of little details to explode today! I can't believe it is already almost Friday...........these weeks are passing too quickly.
Shall we start with Tuesday?
Fatal.
One boy couldn't come so nobody at all ended up at the BiCafe. Olivia was crestfallen, and frankly I was a bit saddened myself because of all these opportunities that allow me to meet new friends don't happen as often. So, without café-ing with Samuel, we headed to clase por la tarde. We are watching a movie in Filosofia about the evolution of man. I'm starting to like it, but I'm a little scarred from the last movie in Spanish that we watched here. It was about violence in Brazil and I couldn't understand what the heck was going on, so I just waited patiently for all of my favorite characters to die off.
It was raining and dark and stormy (as usual) so this was a rather cosy way to end the day. We went to the Pandería and the BiCafé to console our broken souls.
Wednesday, I went to the library to start my Greek project.
I. Love. This. Project.
All we have to do is go to this website from our class blog and answer a bunch of questions about Ancient Greek life in Athens. Apparently, the ancient Athenian padres could decide if they wanted the children or not, and if they didn't, the child would be placed on a mountain to die.
I'm sure you are all ringing with familiarity because this is precisely how the mythological story of Oedipus Rex began!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Or maybe none of you care about old Greek stuff.
Anywho, I'm doing this project in Spanish and its really fun and exciting because I actually totally miss studying "for reals".
Quick library anecdote? I think yes.
I had been studying in the room with computers but I had to run to the book room to ask Aisa what a "papel sobre el padre" meant because I was thinking I had to do a big paper about the typical Athenian father, but no, apparently all that meant was his role in the family, which was clearly stated on the blog like everything else in just a couple sentences. So after this little fiasco that caused a slight disturbance in the overall library atmosphere, my boots clomped over to the "push" door which I spent a good 7 or 8 awkward seconds trying to "pull" until I flung straight back into the belittling and slightly smoldering gaze of Juan and his silent little smirk.
Good.
I left with Olivia so we could BiCafé like always, and guess who we ran into? None other than Iván and his cooool Spanish friends!
You know when you get to the end of your street conversation and its time to say "ciao"?? Well........Iván just kept going on....and on....and on. So I felt that the time was ripe to send him an "hola guapo" and later that night we had deep conversations about being tímido and tímida and skiing.
In other news, yesterday (Thursday) in TICS, our teacher didn't show up which directly translates into social time, which I assure you is much more of a challenge for me than class. I got to use my new word!!!! "Estrepitosamente" is a big, long, obnoxious word for "noisily". I ended up sitting with Pablo, Iván, Brais, Novas, and Muchas Cosas because my girlfriends were all ocupadas. It's great to finally understand all their jokes.
Later in Latín, something kind of super awesome happened. The teacher was out of the room for most of the class, so we were talk talk talking. I can't remember what we were saying, but all of a sudden, Celia, a girl in my class said "Morgan, I'm going to tell you the truth" and she went on and on about the kind of person I am and I really liked the things she said. She said something about how we get along really well even though we don't talk all the time and how sweet I am to everyone and how that's not how she'd been picturing American girls to be. I dare say, I hope I am fulfilling my ambassador purpose. Later, the really pretty gypsy girl, Tania, told me that I'm always happy. I really like this picture painted of me. It tells me that despite my everlasting, never-ending mishaps and mistakes, I'm doing SOMETHING right.
Last night was a really late night. I spent my afternoon (literally right after lunch at like 3:30) at the library working on my Greek project until 6:15, where I went to the BiCafé with Olivia for a couple hours, then around 7:45 I was back in the library until 8:30ish, and then I came home to work and finished the project around 11. Is it weird that I'm sad that I'm already done with it....? I miss learning things other than language all the time and I've got a bit of a thing for Ancient Greek history.
I've decided that once December hits, I'm going to go super hardcore into the tough Spanish things, because very soon, I'm not going to have anyone to practice with. Olivia's 2nd tri classes at home have started and her teachers have been emailing her and soooo she's going to lend me her really really good Spanish book. Looks like our mindless days are nearly over. I also want to help my friends here with their English since it's already almost time for exams and they've helped me miles and miles. Aisa and I couldn't meet up at the library yesterday, so I ended up trying to explain the difference between when to use the past participle and the past perfect through whatsapp around midnight...... My Spanish is better now so that I can explain these things and it's truly a super great feeling when my friends understand.
And then I had this really weird cough and didn't sleep at all for the rest of the night...........I think I need someone to cart me around in a golden carriage or something today.
Soooooo Olivia and I literally make new friends at the BiCafé every single day. Yesterday, (while we were forced to sit outside because there was no room inside and my fingers were slowly turning into ice cubes from trying to copy my Greek notes onto a crisp page) there was a group of 20 year-old boys and girls who were super amused by our English and the boys decided to make themselves out MAIPS without our consent.
Now I feel that we need to discuss the dinosaurios.......!
That same night that Samuel damaged our souls, Olivia decided that we needed some dinosaur friends.
.......
We went to every store in Porriño until we stumbled upon a package of smallish dinosaurs and now they are our friends. There is José Fresco, José Morkie, José José, José Manuel, and Iván.
They bring lots of luck.
Now she has a slight obsession with them, but I'm trying to understand.
In fact, this morning, Paula had an exam in Lengua and as she was about to go up the stairs, I said "Paula!! LOS DINOSAURIOS" and she was like "GENIAL!" and we laughed hysterically for a short while and made a small bit of a scene but nevertheless I gave her Iván and she aprobar-ed (passed).
Putita Paulita, do you remember the very first week when you sent me that twitter message? Now there is hardly a month left and we are still helping each other.
The other day in recreo, she realized how short my time is and we got all emotional. I think I have been dreading these moments since, like, October. Now I'm in the 30s, almost 20s.
But from here on, I have decided that I'm on vacation, because a 30-day vacation sounds more substantial than 30 days remaining out of over 100.
No comments:
Post a Comment