Monday, November 12, 2012

Normal Passing Days

I love each and every one of these normal passing days. I used to go to sleep dreading my return home and wake up ridiculously homesick, but now I have learned to look at the time I have and cherish every second of it.
I haven't done much after school in these past few days because I am determined to pass my Greek exam since I got a 60% on the English exam......
Awkward situations.
I have to memorize all of the singular and plural articles and all the endings of the first and second declinations....if any of you know what that means.
School has been pretty boring. Everyone is studying for exams and I have long-since given up on trying to understand my Gallego, Filosofia, TICS, Ciencias, and Historia teachers. I'm thrilled to have Olivia to reminisce with. Yesterday we decided to get in touch with out inner Southern roots and pretended we were from Alabama and whipped out our accents from the Deep South.
......
Nobody noticed anything other than that we were laughing more than usual.
They don't understand accents very well.
Or English in general.
But, how many of you Bedfordians speak Spanish?...

Yesterday, I officially befriended the girl from Switzerland!
She came straight up to me during recreo and hugged me...and then explained it was National Hug-an-Exchange-Student Day.
Hey Iván.....it's national Hug-an-Exchange-Student Day...and guess what I am?...
Any who, Swissy's name is Milena Kundert and she is here for the whole year. She speaks perfect German, English, Spanish, and really French.
We are whatsapping now, so we are basically MAIPS.

Speaking of MAIPS, Olivia and I tomar-ed café with the MAIPS from our class: Raúl and Hugo. Sergio is our other MAIPS, but he can never make it. Ever.
Hugo is a little cray, but Raúl is one of the sweetest and cuqui-est people I've ever met and he's always so happy and silly. You know those people you just have to smile around...? That's him.
He is going to be at the top of my list of people I will miss the most, and even crazy Hugo.

This morning has been a little loca so far.....I'm in first hour writing this at the moment.
I am very set on my morning routine.
I take a shower from 7:45-7:55, dry my hair from 7:55-8:05, get dressed and maquillarme from 8:05-8:15/8:20, and eat breakfast and leave. If my sister wants to take a shower in the morning, I get up earlier so she can have at least a 20 minute shower.
My routine is very exact and static and pristine and it works for me. I'm very partial to it.
This morning, however, it was torn into little bits of chaos.
My sister took a shower from 7:30-8 and I ate a little breakfast in between to get it out of the way and then took a five minute shower and threw my life together in ten minutes all while there was banging on the bathroom door and people shouting for me to hurry.
Then my bookbag exploded and all my utensils fell out (I am utensilless today), my leggings got a hole in them (I am so very holy today), and the zipper on my boot ripped.
I suppose all of that really isn't a big deal in the grand scheme of the day, but I feel a little off balance and only half awake.
I usually feel like I'm in a dream cloud, but today I'm just lost in the fog, man.
Me and my sister have a very sisterly relationship. She is a drama queen just like yours truly and there is screaming and crying in the house daily. One minute, she is telling me she hates me and that my Spanish is horrendous and the next she is telling me how pretty I am and how she loves having me as a sister.
I really love experiencing this sibling thing. It's very crazy and beautiful.
I have learned a lot from my sister and I will always thank her for changing me into a better-rounded person.

You know how when a random stranger or a distant acquaintance does something really nice for you or helps you with something, you are just absolutely in shock?
Well, I have been in a perpetual state of shockage these past couple days and I neeeeeeed to record all of this for journal purposes, ya feel?
Story time!
So it all started out with Tuesday night....
This pesado (bother) of a boy named Adrián (everyone calls him "Orchi" for some reason of his last name but we are not on a nickname basis so I shall refer to him as Adrián) messaged me on Twitter asking me about when to correctly use a work in the English language and it turned into him saying that he and his friend Juan wanted to meet me officially (we smile and "hola" in the halls but we've never had a real convo) and then he asked if I like Juan and I said I didn't know him but he is very handsome.
All of these Spanish boys are handsome, I am floating in an ocean of dream boats (I have a feeling that only my close family will understand that phrase....)
I reckoned this to be a sensible response, but I suppose I shouldn't have said anything at all because Adrián has a very large boca and told Juan that I liked him a lot to the point of wanting a relationship....slow down there, bucko, this is not part of Plan de Iván!
This, I'm sure, scared the heck out of Juan because all of these dream boats are also very shy.
Very. Shy.
So I woke up to this news and Obama's presidency on Wednesday morning and suffered from a mini heart attack. From there, I just had one of those days where EVERYTHING was overwhelming...and lemme tell ya....there is nothing familiar here to cling to and all I wanted was to be clingy. Like a zebra mussel or something.
My life is pretty smooth here; no studying, lots of time for friends, sufficient time to sleep (a rare delicacy), and an exuberant quantity of smothering attention from friends and family, but every day seriously feels like how one might when climbing a mountain with no places to grip or securely place a foot or even a toe. It's like climbing aboard a surfboard and slowly wobbling to a balance when you're never touched a surfboard or even violent ocean waves before.
Wow, look at all these extreme sports I'm covering!
But anywho, it is sufficient to say that by informatica at the end of the day, I was read to quit and go home. The teacher skipped and I was sucked into the pool if obnoxious boys in my class. I think they forget that I'm a person sometimes. It's much easier to just laugh with them, but sometimes I just have to have a bad day. I'm always happy and posit but so many little things went wrong that day and I just wanted to sulk.
However, Pablo and Iván (feel like you know them by now, doesn't it?) brought their lovely super-popular-intimidating friend Antón and every time that I understood an English word, or worse, misunderstood a Spanish word, it was literally the funniest thing in the entire world and he would laugh two inches from my face and then say something about me to Iván as if I disappeared.
Coooool guys.
Afterwards, the end of the day was in sight, one hour left. Ciencias. The ciencias teacher is the Wicked Witch of the West alive again.
Enough said.
I left defeated and ready for a nap, but on my way home, alas, I was halted by Iván, Pablo, and Antón. They picked up right where they left off; they had wanted to see my messages with that pesado Adrián/Orchi because they saw his name in my DMs in TICS when I had my Twitter up.
Oh helllllllll no.
It's like everything came to a full circle.
Iván noticed my horror and suddenly switched to a different person and said "Pablo, está mal, está mal!" which basically meant I was the opposite of happy, so he told them all to stop and asked me why I was mal and his facial expression was so painfully nice and I got super emotional.
Sooooo I did the most sensible thing I could think of.
I grabbed Iria and ran away.
All this drama in a different language is a bit much for this little American!
After lunch that day, I walked Iria to her chiropractor (she has awful back problems.....poor thing) and while I was waiting for her, I received a message from Juan on Twitter.........

"Estás bien?" / "You okay?"

Ughhhh let's all take a collective moment to "ugh" and maybe even scream a little.
I responded as super/happy/excited peppy Morgan and asked why he asked.
Iván told him I was "casi llorando o algo así".
No, no, Juan, I am just fine.
I convinced him of my everlasting positivity and the next day when Pablo and Iván captured me hostage between class in a little cage of more popular boys I've never met, I squeaked about missing my dog and ya está, apurrcado, por fin, it's over.
Dios mío, I basically posted a Harry Potter book on here, lo siento!






No comments:

Post a Comment