Saturday, November 17, 2012

National Huelga

Enough explaining crazy overwhelming changes, I just need to explode, complain, and gush about boys and life and people here.
Yesterday was a national huelga (remember the word for huelga?) and this time, everyone was striking for just...well...everything. School, government, losing/wasting money and such.
I was hoping for a nice, long, relaxing night and sleeping all day....but nooooo.
I was up all night tossing and turning because I randomly became sick as a dog.....AGAIN.
Awful headache, my entire cuerpo was hurting (even my fingers...it was torture just to breathe), my nose was full of junk, my stomach felt like someone was stabbing me, cosas así, sabes?
I definitely caught it from Manoli.
This is not a good place to be a germaphobe, and I am the germaphobiest of them all. I noticed she was sick but I couldn't just communicate with her with a stick or something, I have to be the warm and fuzzy American EVERY SINGLE SECOND, DO YOU HEAR ME? I AM BLOG-SHOUTING AT YOU. WARM AND FUZZY, PEOPLE. WARM AND FUZZY AND SMILEY.
Whatevs, I'm already feeling much better thanks to my Claritin and Motrin and nasal decongestant.
Every time I would start with the pills my family would say "there goes Morgan, drugging herself again"
Yep. We Americans love our drugs.
My family is very natural.
They don't take medicine when they are sick UNLESS prescribed by a doctor, seedless fruit is a big no-no, and lots of oil with everything instead of butter.
Different opinions, different lifestyle here.
Different.

So I ended up sleeping all day....and nada más. I woke up in time to accompany Iria to her English class, which was fun because it is pleasantly familiar to be surrounded by English, but awful because I remember I was soooooo sore.
Later, when we came home, I studied my Greek declinations (the test has been put off to who-knows-when) and noticed that Iván was on Tuenti.....Spanish Facebook.
Eeeeeeep.
So then we go into the typical frenzy..

*I should talk to him*
*I really should just say something*
*Anything*
*Think, Morgan*
*Seriously just anything, how about hello?*
*No no, they don't say hello here*
*What do they say?*
*Hola! Say hola!*
*I can't, what if he doesn't answer?*
*You're right, then you have to awkwardly face him tomorrow*
*I'll just wait till tomorrow*
*But wait*
*That doesn't solve or change anything*
*WHAT HAVE I GOT TO LOSE*
*Just close your eyes and....*

And that is the short story of how I ended up saying "hola" to Iván Losada Figueroa on Tuenti.
He did indeed answer, and we had a fantastic and lively conversation.
I messed up once........
We were talking about how Pablo sometimes says mean things to me, and I said that I could defend myself and I meant to say "nah, I can protect myself!" but I actually said "I am unable to protect myself" ughhhhh so then he went all sweet and said he would tell Pablo to stop, which was quite majo, but I couldn't have him thinking I'm a weak and helpless little female so I had to correct myself.
Plan de Iván.....still in motion!
So today, I walked into TICS and he basically attacked me with holas and que tals and continuances of our conversations last night.
He's in love with me.
He just doesn't know it yet.
But he's clearly on the verge of knowing it.

SPEAKING OF LOVERS
I have some unwelcomed lovers....
Igtor is the novio of my lovely friend Paula, and he keeps telling her that I am perfect in every way and that he wants me to live with him so he can see my smile every morning so that it will make all of his days better.
What.....?
And then Hugo is in love with me still, back off bro.
He is ridicúlo.
Like seriously a disaster con piernas.
He had his friends all talk to me yesterday and they said things like "Hugo has strange feelings, you must just understand them!"
From the very first day, he just jumped right into "I love you and want to be your Spanish boyfriend"
What.....?!
I had to help him with his English for the whole clase de inglés yesterday and it was just a gran atroz. It's to the point where everything he does or says bothers me a lot. I find something to like about everyone, but congrats Hugo, you are my only exception.
He has been texting me ALL DAY today thanking me for helping him.
.....

So in other news, today, Pedro surprised me with a video from all of my friends! I went into a weird frenzy of laughing and crying and it was all very unattractive, I'm sure. They sang and danced for me and my dad and my dog even made a guest appearance. It was the little details that I missed so much that made me explode a little.
Thank you so much Pedro.
I think that this is the most thoughtful and wonderful thing that anyone has ever done for me.
Literally. This is at the top.

Naturally, afterwards, when walking home in the rain with my coat draped over my head like a nun and a snotty nose and red eyes, who do I run into? Iván. Hola, chao, adios, don't look at me.


No comments:

Post a Comment