Dios, I need to write more. I don't want to forget one second here.
I absolutely loathe how quickly these weeks are flying by.
Everything is absolutely stellar here.
I've got a wonderful family and we learn more about each other each day and I get closer to these beautiful friends I still continue to make...
My Spanish is rapidly improving daily and it's nice to finally understand what's going on.
The problem?........CARBS.
I am drowning in a flood of carbohydrates.
There's lots of starchy and yeasty stuff here.
I eat healthy, but the food is much heavier than what I'm used to so it's not making me feel very well. I scrounge for fruits and vegetables at every meal but I kinda have to just eat what my family eats...
I'm ready for another huelga!
I've given up on all of my subjects except for Latín and Griego.
I just love learning these languages.
I finally completely understand the Greek declinations and I've got my own little English book for Latin that I'm slowly ploughing through.
We've been doing this thing in Greek where we take the Greek word for something, such as vida/life (BIOS), and find words that are used today that contain the Greek word (biografia, biologia).
How perfect for me.
Is like I'm living in a little dream cloud.
So today is Monday. Qué raro, because we haven't had school since last Wednesday. They take their Día de Los Difuntos very seriously, okay?
I've had a stupendously normal past few days.....tomar-ing cafe with Olivia and Adrián and Sarah and David and such cosas así.
People like me here, it's so crazy.
For those who don't know me.... I used to be rather timid. Here, there are times that I feel like retreating back to my shell, but nobody can look at me as "shy" here because they don't know I used to be a quiet little mouse. Thus forth, they have to give me a chance and I use my charming Spanish sarcasm and BAM we're MAIPS.
There was a grande Halloween party, but I chose to hang with my family. But a very attractive creation called Jaun that I've spoken to maybe twice in my life asked about me.....many times.
How strange, I'm famous.
It's fun to live a different life.
I went to French class with my sister on Saturday. I really want to learn French now. It's a future project.
Today I failed my English exam.
WHAT?
Yep.
I have an awful teacher named Olga who has awful grammar and an awful high pitched half-British-half-I-don't-know voice.
She thinks "alive or dead" and "a-live performance" are the same.
Number 1: IT'S 'DEAD OR ALIVE' CARIÑO, NOT 'ALIVE OR DEAD'
Number 2: the opposite of a "live performance" is not a "dead performance".
Number 3: this is how I failed my English test.....
Correct answer: the impressive big stone castle
My answer: the big impressive stone castle
Difference: impressive is apparently an opinion so it should come first but I BEG TO DIFFER.
Reason 1: big is a relative term, impressive is more of a commonly-accepted term when being used to describe a building.
Reason 2: who decided its correct put opinions first?
Reason 3: always put "big" first. It sounds better.
Reason 4: MY ENGLISH IS FINE
So this is a big deal in the school. Can't wait to face it tomorrow.
Pablo and Iván lost all of the wits they have collected in their short lives when Sergio let slip my grade.
They are both in my first hour tomorrow. I hate Tuesdays.
Also I dyed my hair.
Series of events that led to this:
1: I was at the BiCafé with Olivia. There were some rather cute strangers next to us and they were talking to us.
2: The cute waiter told the cute people that he was afraid I didn't love him. HE HAS NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT. NO TE PREOCUPES.
3: It was very cold
4: All of our friends are in hardcore study mode
5: We suddenly wished for a change in our regular routine
6: "Let's dye your hair" -Olivia
7: "Have you done it before?" -Me
8: "Yep" -Olivia
9: "Then let's." -Me
10: And ya está!
About the doorknobs thing.....I'm just really thrilled that I finally know how to open the freaking doors here. They all have fake doorknobs so you have to open it by turning the key. Who decided that this was okay?
No comments:
Post a Comment