Things have been.....complicado.
It would take me several blog posts of explanation and some serious mental confrontation to explain what went wrong, and let's be real, nobody wants to read that, so I will sum up the events of these past few weeks with a metaphor:
A bomb exploded in paradise, but I have made a sanctuary from the ashes.
Translation: my worst nightmare happened and my familia did not work out, but I am safely installed in a new habitat now.
I'm sure this has left you with 64 different questions, but for now, no pasa nada (significance: hakuna matata).
I hope you have songs from the Lion King plastered violently to your brain all day now.
I do.
Now I shall fill you with more fun antics of my Spanish movie life!
To know more castellano = to have more fun.
My Spanish has improved DRAMASTICALLY.
It is so exciting to have real conversations now, not just the cute little "smile-and-pretend-like-you-know-what-she's-saying" kind of thing.
Lately I have been explaining the significance of "hipster" quite often, which always ends awkwardly because I generally pluck an example out of the crowd. There are lots of examples to choose from.
Tons of hipsters here.
Yesterday, a girl in my computer class asked why it's legal to carry guns around anytime, anywhere. My computer class generally tends to ignore me but lemme tell ya, every boy around me tuned in. They asked questions like "aren't you scared to walk down the street?" "police carry pistols?" "on any street? It's legal?" Every day, we Americans fight viciously for our lives if we choose to walk to the supermercado. Tough as nails.
My history teacher frequently asks us American girls to pronounce words and names from the first Industrial Revolution such as McCormick, Edison, Watt, Hoffmann, Goodyear..... I'm sure if you are
American you have heard those names at least fifty times. I sure have (thanks to being forced to swallow American history every year of my life). Each time, the class never fails to gasp. And laugh. And repeat six times.
American you have heard those names at least fifty times. I sure have (thanks to being forced to swallow American history every year of my life). Each time, the class never fails to gasp. And laugh. And repeat six times.
I love Spanish people.
Actually, I don't sometimes.
They are rather forward here.
I don't know how I feel about such forwardness yet.
For example, on Saturday night I was walking in Porriño with my amigas and a blonde boy (very rare
here) from my school stopped right in front of me, stroked my chin, and said "eres guapa".
here) from my school stopped right in front of me, stroked my chin, and said "eres guapa".
Suave....not.
Solution: throw him "the face" by Jenna Marbles.
As well, there is a boy in my class named Hugo named Hugo who informs me daily that he is triste because quiere ser mi novio.
Awkward. Incomódo. Adíos.
This is quite strange for me....I'm never popular with boys.
However.......the gorgeous model Spanish boys don't ever give me the time of día unless they are snorting at my mistakes (note to self..."embarazado" is not embarrassed....it actually means "pregnant"......).
It is so much fun to speak English, this is stellar.
I miss my puppy.
Moosey do you miss me too?
Can somebody please UPS her to me pronto?
Not even kidding right now..
I spoke on the phone with the lovely mejor amiga Americana Emily last night and it was disgustingly
wonderful to finally be able to convey all my feelings about everything with all the words I wanted!
wonderful to finally be able to convey all my feelings about everything with all the words I wanted!
For the first time I'm a little homesick today. I've lost track of how long I've been here (is it already August?) but it feels like a very very long time. I am wary of beginning a new 'normal' routine - that sounds mentally draining. But it can only go up from here, verdad?
I miss my puppy.
Moosey do you miss me too?
Can somebody please UPS her to me pronto?
Hola Morgan!
ReplyDeleteI just wanted to say, hi, and let you know that I am reading your blogs and I am living vicariously through you. :) Your writing is so genuine and funny. I got a kick out of your Jenna Marbles "the face" comment! I wish I was as brave as you to take a trip like this. Any who, I hope you are having the time of your life!
Adios,
Alana
Hi Alana!
ReplyDeleteAh I'm so thrilled that people are reading my blogs, glad you're enjoying life from my point of view! It is so crazy here, I wish I could just write all day.
Thanks so much!