Saturday, October 6, 2012

Homecoming

In EEUU, today is homecoming.
I would be piling my hair on top of my head and painting my face with makeup and sliding into a beautiful dress and dancing like an idiot today if I were not here. 

In the meanwhile, I have had a perfect day. 
I feel warm and fuzzy inside. 
I have to start over and mold into a new family now, and I am considering today "day one". 
Iria and I had a largely delicious breakfast when we woke up (after staying up all night learning about the people of this town) and I hung out with her mom while she was studying biology. We went to the supermercado and the Frutería and the Pandería and went for coffee with Iria's abuela. She is so sweet, but talks very fast so I never understand her. Poco a poco. 
Afterwards, I went to a cute little park with Iria and I brought my guitar and we sang and wrote songs. How cute. 
We speak in a tangled mess of Spanish and Inglés, it's great. 
I love living here in Spain, it is so relaxed and casual and beautiful. 
Everyone complains about how small this town is, but it has a huge village and paved cobblestone sidewalks and stores and fifty panderias and forty grocery stores and sixty cafes. I just love it. 
Oh, and not to mention we are basically chillin' in the middle of the bottom of a bowl of mountains. 
Every morning there is a mist of fog that blankets the mountain tops, and sometimes when the fog clears, I can see from my school window a huge double rainbow that is so much more brilliant and bright than anything I've ever seen in my life. 
It's perfecto. 

Tonight I feel far away. I do not feel homesick, just detached and floating, drifting, falling farther from America. In doing this, I have set myself apart. I will never experience my junior homecoming or my first Big Ball game (long story.....it's a Bedford thing). Instead I am over here making memories with beautiful people I will have to say goodbye to all too soon. I hate to admit this but a month has already passed and my future return to Los Estados Unidos is bulging ahead.....dark and colorful all at the same time. 
Okay I definitely do not want to think of this anymore. 
I'm off to watch my first movie in castellano........
Yipes. 

Later alligators. 




Ohhhh, more antics?
Quickly. 
Iria was talking about how she always confuses "shellfish" with "selfish" (so cute, I know I know) and I always confuses "lechuga" with "lechuza" (lettuce and owl). Gah, we are adorable. 
Also, today at cena, Manoli (Spanish mami) was talking about how she was going to work tomorrow with her friend. I looked at Iria and said "wait, we have to get up at 8:30 to go buy peas?"
Yikes, my translation was a little off there. 
We were all laughing for a good 10 minutes. 
Story of my life. 
American girl problems. 

On a brighter Spanish language note, I am finally learning how to be sarcastic and flirty in my Spanish! I consider this a major achievement, because where would I be without my sarcasm? Huddling in a dark corner on Pluto, that's where. 
Like I said. Poco a poco. 
Okay. Spanish movie time. Josh Hutcherson follows me everywhere, he just can't get enough of me ;)
Buenas noches!

No comments:

Post a Comment