Good gosh, today was the first real day of school.
To start off with, I had to pick like 5 people and point to the first hour on my schedule
(informaticas -computer science) and say "¿donde es?" and then I could barely understand their instructions. Luckily, one boy was in my class and he laughed and pointed to the door in front of us and said "aqui". He didn't talk to me at all after that. Awesome.
The first thing the teacher did was hand us a worksheet with a million questions. This was definitely the worst thing he could do. I whipped out my Spanish dictionary and tried to translate everything but that is a very slow process sooooo I eventually had to explain to a dead-silent class in my squeaky little voice that I speak English. Awesome.
I tried to make eye contact with people in there but they looked away and then when a girl sneered and laughed at me, I gave up. A nice boy helped me follow what was going on, but I could tell that he was frustrated that I didn't understand him. Awesome.
Well, I don't have that class until next Tuesday, so I don't have to worry about that right now.
People here are so different than in America. They are very friendly and open, not fake and gossipy like Americans, but they are only friendly and open if you know them. In America, you could be walking down a random street or on the beach and smile at a complete stranger and they will always smile back, but here, they will look away and not acknowledge you.
I asked Olivia's sister Xandra if this was normal, and apparently people in this town just aren't open to the new kids. Awesome.
But there is good news ahead! Just wait!
So then I finally made it to gym class, which I have with Olivia (thank all the angels and saints and prophets who dropped a piece of a blessing). We had previously met the gym teacher, and so he introduced us to the class as "the Americans who have no friends, please talk to them and talk slowly" which was like the worst intro ever and our faces swelled with red and everyone snickered
and whatnot. Awesome.
However, we had the next class with the girls we met yesterday. Ana and Daisy (Decy? Something like that) and since they were talking to us, we appeared more interesting to the other girls and before we knew it we were surrounded by girls.
Fast forward to the first 20 minute break and the group of girls
introduced us to another group of girls and we were looking very popular. A boy came up right up to us to practice his English and started to introduce the other boys to us as "the raven", "the best video gamer on the planet" and etcetera and gave out very useful warnings as well.
There is also a girl from Sweden here and she has a very cute accent, perfect English, and fabulous outfits. I think she is struggling with the Spanish as much as I am.
I got many compliments today. Ana said my sweater was beautiful and a bunch of the people in the courtyard at break said I have a bueno cara, a good face?
But they are all so beautiful, they have nicer faces I assure you.
There are two extremely helpful and patient girls who are in most of my classes. They escorted me to Latin and sat right next to me. My Latin teacher does not speak Spanish, he speaks Galego, which is the original language of Galicia.
Galego sucks.
It just freaking sucks.
So I was not just super lost, I was super super lost.
Also, that teacher thinks I'm a complete nutcase and will not talk directly to me. If he wants to say something to me , he immediately forces one of my friends to translate the Galego to Spanish.
Okay dude, I am in a foreign country...I am clearly willing to try anything.
Whatevs, I only have Latin like three times a week.
The class of Galego was next, which is definitely going to be just as bad as Latin, probably worse. However, the story we read was about things I have already covered in mythology, so I recognized words like Homero(Homer), Odisea(Odysseus), Ítaca(Ithaca), Ciclope(Cyclopes), and of course Poseidón and Penelope.
At 2:30pm I came home to eat and take a siesta and then I had to return to school at 4:30.
I think. The time thingy still confuses me.
I was back at school at 16:30. Figure that out.


This was only for two hours, Grego and Filosofia. Neither of the teachers showed up so I just sat with my friends in the courtyard, which I assure you was also a challenge. One of the girls talks very very fast and I never know what she is saying.
When the second class was cancelled, Alessssssssander said to me, "Welcome to Spanish Educación!"
Tomorrow will be harder, we will have to take notes. I can't even.....ugh.
I'm sure my new friends will help me.
Olivia's sister Xandra is a year younger than me and her friends are very nice too. We went to Porriño center after school and talking with them improved my Spanish conversational skills a lot.
I think I might be able to survive.
Maybe.
I miss my puppy.
A lot.